Turning to Christ in the Midst of the Storm

Imagine you’re in a huge, unfamiliar jungle, surrounded by towering trees that seem to reach up forever. You’ve lost your way, and every direction you look is covered in darkness. You’re alone, feeling trapped, vulnerable, and filled with uncertainty.

What will you do?

Where will you turn?

Who is able to help?

The topic for today is turning to Christ in the midst of our trials.

I have had trials come in a variety of forms. They have brought with them intense emotions of inadequacy, embarrassment, and shame. They have left me feeling alone and vulnerable. Many times they come from completely out of my control. I have seen trials be carried from one generation to the next, hopefully I haven’t carried any for my children to deal with. I may have even imposed trials on others, some deliberately and some unintentionally. Trials have tested my faith and will likely continue to do so. Some of my trials have been the direct result of my choices, like giving in to temptation or acting without thinking. At times, even my well-intentioned actions have accidentally created trials for others or caused hurt for those around me. Simply put trials are inevitable and often leave me feeling like I was punched in my gut and wounded.

I find comfort In Romans chapter 5 verses 3 & 4 (ESV), Paul reminds us that trials can be transformative:

“…we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope,”

I admit I find it impossible to rejoice while I am fearful, ashamed, or feeling alone.

Elder Jeffrey R. Holland once said:

“No one of us is less treasured or cherished of God than another. I testify that He loves each of us—insecurities, anxieties, self-image, and all. He doesn’t measure our talents or our looks; He doesn’t measure our professions or our possessions. He cheers on every runner, calling out that the race is against sin, not against each other.”

In the story of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, I see a powerful symbol of Christ’s Atonement. When they transgressed by partaking of the fruit, they were filled with shame and fear. They were unsure of what it meant for them and their relationship with God. So they hid themselves and tried to cover themselves. Yet, in His infinite mercy, God sought them out, covered their shame with clothing. He put their fear to rest by reconciling their choices with His commandments through grace and compassion.

This act demonstrates Christ’s willingness to cover us and heal our wounds.

No matter the source of our trials, we can turn to Him for guidance, forgiveness, and transformation. His reach for reconciliation offers hope and renewal, even in the most challenging circumstances. As we share our suffering, we can see his love reflected through others who have felt the same way we do.

Christ’s offer of atonement is always available, even when we think we’ve pushed Him away and believe he wants nothing to do us. As we allow Him into our hearts and lives, He grants us strength and shapes us into His image.

On the night of Jesus’ impending trial and crucifixion I think it likely that He felt distraught, isolated, possibly fear or uncertainty, extreme grief for sure. He turned to His friends for comfort, but they couldn’t fully comprehend the weight he carried and were sleeping. He didn’t hold that against them. In that moment of anguish, He sought solace from His Father, endeavoring to reconcile His own will with that of His Father’s. His prayer is a wonderful example of how we, too, can turn to Christ during our trials, seeking His guidance, and striving to align our will with His.

In the Doctrine and Covenants section 19 Christ is pleading with us to turn to him and reconcile with Him, sparing us from the suffering He endured:

“16 For behold, I, God, have suffered these things for all, that they might not suffer if they would repent;”

He suffered for us and is offering us a path to peace through forgiveness and yoking himself to us to make our burdens light.

James echos Paul in chapter 1, verses 2 through 5 (KJV) encouraging us to find joy in trials, (the word temptations can also be translated as trials):

“My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith works patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that you may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.”

When we lack knowledge and understanding amid our trials, we can turn to God, and He generously provides without becoming angry or upset.

President Russell M. Nelson said:

“My dear brothers and sisters, the joy we feel has little to do with the circumstances of our lives and everything to do with the focus of our lives.”

I can find joy when I am in despair feeling isolated and alone, because He understands me perfectly.

I can find joy when I feel vulnerable and exposed, because He is always next to me offering me a covering.

I can find joy in when i am overwhelmed by my burden and I cannot carry it anymore, because He is there ready to tie Himself to me and make my burden light.

I can find joy in my wounds and weaknesses, because He can make me whole.

A Parable of a Lost Lamb:

In a peaceful meadow, there lived a little lamb. He had a simple and happy life, grazing on the green pastures and basking in the warmth of the sun. He felt safe and content, surrounded by his loving shepherd and the other sheep.

But one day, unexpectedly dark clouds gathered in the sky, and the meadow was struck by a powerful storm. Lightning flashed, thunder roared, and rain poured down relentlessly. The once-familiar meadow became a perilous place.

The lamb, with his small and fragile frame, struggled to endure the storm. The wind blew him off balance, and the rain soaked his wool, making him heavy and weary.

As the storm raged on, the lamb couldn’t see the shepherd through the pouring rain and blinding flashes of lightning. Fear gripped his heart. He was vulnerable and he felt utterly alone.

In his desperation, he searched for shelter, but he couldn’t find any. The lamb was lost, his once-simple life turned into a daunting nightmare. The darkness of the storm seemed to mirror the darkness of his circumstances, and he longed for safety and comfort.

But then, as he shivered in the pouring rain, the lamb remembered something. He remembered the shepherd’s voice, gentle and reassuring, the same voice that had guided him to green pastures and still waters. He knew that his only hope lay in returning to the shepherd’s care.

With trembling steps, the lamb began to bleat, calling out to the shepherd through the storm. As he cried out, something miraculous happened.

Through the driving rain, the lamb heard the familiar voice of his shepherd calling his name. The shepherd had been searching for him, and when he heard the lamb’s cry, he followed the sound and found the little lamb. With gentle hands, the shepherd scooped him up, holding him close to his heart.

In that moment, the lamb felt a profound sense of relief and safety, a warmth that penetrated his soaked wool.

As we go through life’s storms that exhaust our strength and faith, when we feel lost, vulnerable, and alone, our Savior, Jesus Christ, seeks after each of us. We are not left alone in our trials.

As hard as it is to see through the storm, we are not alone.

As shameful or fearful we may feel, we are not alone.

In our moments of great anguish, we are not alone.

His love and grace are unwavering sources of hope, refuge, and rescue. No matter the trials we face, we can endure them all with Christ who strengthens us.

May we always turn to Him in faith, knowing that His love and care are always with us, leading us safely back to the fold.

Leave a comment